Menu 0

Sorry, Your Browser Is Not Supported

You can still browse the site but some services may not work properly. This site requires Google Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Internet Explorer 10 and above. For mobile devices use an HTML5 capable browser.

Download Chrome

Lighting for Tomorrow 2009 Winners Announced

Winners of the seventh annual Lighting for Tomorrow competition were announced at the American Lighting Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Palos Verdes, California. Organized by the ALA, the Consortium for Energy Efficiency (CEE), and the U.S. Department of Energy, the competition aims to increase market acceptance and awareness of energy-efficient lighting by recognizing the best designed energy-efficient lighting products in the residential market. The judges selected two Grand Prize Winners:

  • Cree LED Lighting High Output Six Inch Downlight
  • Philips Color Kinetics eW Cove Powercore

The judges also recognized five other entries with Special Focus Awards for their successful incorporation of important design considerations:

  • Light Distribution—MaxLite LED Architect Flat Panel
  • Versatility—Lightolier Calculite Solid-State
  • Ease of Installation—Creative Systems Lighting Eco Counter
  •  High Efficiency—Cree LED Lighting High Efficacy Six Inch Downlight
  • Technical Innovation—Cree LED Lighting SSL Track Fixture

More information on all the winning entries is available at